top of page
Top of History page

History of the Blue Knights®

The Blue Knights®  International LEMC is a non-profit fraternal organisation consisting of active and retired law enforcement men and women who enjoy riding motorcycles.

The Blue Knights® International was founded in 1974 in the USA, and history in Australia dates back to 1978.


In 1974, several law enforcement officers from the Bangor, Maine (USA) area met and formed a small, local motorcycle club.  The rest, as they say, is history.

Today the Blue Knights
® have more than 636 Chapters in 30 countries.


The Blue Knights® is the largest Law Enforcement Motorcycle Club in the world with over 20,000 members.

We are the oldest Law Enforcement Motorcycle Club in Australia and are referred to as Blue Knights® Australia.


Members must have or have had arrest powers by statute under national or state legislation, and as such we are pretty exclusive.


The Australian story is one of pride and achievement; Australia joined the Blue Knights® family back in 1978 and forged a special place in the history of the Blue Knights® legend. With the establishment of the Australian membership and with members in Canada and the USA the Blue Knights® became a true international Law Enforcement Motorcycle Club and started along the road to becoming the largest and most respected Law Enforcement Motorcycle Club in the world. 

The Australia membership started its humble beginnings in 1978 with some members at large mainly in the Sydney area. In 1982 with support from Washington I Chapter Bob Depeau (founding president and a current Washington I Blue Knight), and members of the New South Wales Police force, the Australia I chapter was started.


By 1983 Australia I had been chartered and towards the end of the 1980s the Chapter had in excess of 90 regular members and included both Police and Law Enforcement Officers from around Australia. This was the first Law Enforcement Motorcycle Club in Australia and set the bar for all others to follow.

The number of Chapters in Australia is steadily increasing with new Chapters forming in all States and Territories as the established Chapters divide due to large numbers or simple geography.


  • Australia I     -  Perth and the state to the East and North

  • Australia II    -  Southern NSW, ACT and SA

  • Australia III   -  QLD and NT - due to declining numbers was disbanded

  • Australia IV   -  Bunbury,  Peel Region, South West and Great Southern in WA

  • Australia V    -  Sydney

  • Australia VI   -  Queensland

  • Australia VII  -  Victoria and Tasmania

  • Australia VIII -  Northern NSW

  • Australia IX   -  Victoria and Tasmania

bk logo.jpg
Screenshot 2022-10-21 055749_edited.png
Logo 4.jpg
BLUE KNIGHTS v3_edited.jpg
bottom of page